Exercise

I’m feeling good about my first day on Autoimmune ProtocolAIP. I wanted to celebrate my kick-off, so last night Shawn and I went out to an amazing restaurant. Before our dinner though, we decided to go for a little hike at a local regional park – Helen Putnam Regional Park. I set an alarm on my phone for 35 minutes, so once we got 35 minutes in, we could turn around and walk another 35 minutes back.

We took the more steep non-paved Ridge Trail on the way in toward the Fish Pond, then followed the same trail down toward the drinking fountain, and then came back around on the full paved area on the way back. It was really beautiful, but also somewhat challenging for me. I got out of breath pretty quickly in because of the steep incline, so the rest of the way I was pretty tired. I didn’t realize how tired until we got back to the car and I actually sat down.

Suddenly, I felt weak, shaky, and nauseated. At first I thought it was because I was hungry, so we headed to the restaurant and ordered our food and drinks. The more I ate though, the more I felt sick. I ended up bringing half of my plate home. When I got home I had to lay down, take some gravol for the nausea, and rested for a few hours before I started feeling better. Then I had a cup of tea, and played a little Final Fantasy XIV.

Around 8pm, I got a little hungry and finished off my left overs – since I knew that after the day ended I would be going AIP. I was exhausted by 930 and went to bed.

This morning I feel pretty tired and am taking things slowly. I had my first AIP friendly breakfast and it was actually quite delicious. Today I sauteed asparagus in raw coconut oil (which I am loving!) and fresh lemon juice sprinkled with kosher salt. That was enjoyed alongside lox of salmon, sliced cucumbers, 1/2 an avocado, and a serving of sour kraut.

I got to thinking about how the exercise made me so exhausted yesterday and was researching (as I always do), about Hashimoto’s and exercise. It seems to be very common that people with Hashi’s have to really pace themselves with exercising – in an effort to not “over do” it. This article: “How to Exercise with Hashimoto’s” was very informative and it shares a High – Intensity Circuit Training 7 minute session. Scroll down to the “HICT SAMPLE PROGRAM” heading.

I am a fan of HIIT but have not been able to since my ankle injury (or well at least successfully). Since I pushed it yesterday, I’m going to take it easy today, and then start incorporating this 7 minute HIIT into my daily routine for M-F. I’ll share my experience after I’ve been doing it for a while.

3 thoughts on “Exercise

  1. That sounds awesome Mer! Hopefully you will start feeling better each day once you start getting adjusted to new diet/routine, and start having more and more energy too. Thanks for sharing! I enjoy these updates you post.

    1. I am feeling that only naturally that will happen, Dan! If not I’m going to have some serious thinking to do about the symptoms. Wouldn’t that be awesome though.. energy, yes!

Leave a Reply

