AIP

After much resistance, I will be starting the AIP diet on Monday 4/20. That stands for: Auto Immune Protocol diet. I am already gluten free and dairy free (with occasional cheating on dairy) – so I think I can tough this out.

By using food as medicine, autoimmune protocol (AIP) followers are able to reduce troublesome symptoms and heal underlying imbalances by decreasing inflammation and healing gut dysfunction. The diet focuses on a nutrient-dense intake and eliminates inflammatory and allergenic foods to support the body in cooling down the immune system (which is what’s going awry). http://ultimatepaleoguide.com/autoimmune-protocol/

A lot, well… pretty much all of the allowed foods are foods that I love – it will just be a matter of eliminating even more foods. This is going to be a challenge for me, in that I’ll have to make every effort to prepare my foods in advance, so that I don’t wait until the last minute to eat and then have no energy to make a starch or some such ingredient. This is mostly a problem due to the energy at hand.. but I’ll just have to maximize my productivity when I have energy. The carbohydrates will become limited, which is fine, I don’t crave them so much as I just want a nice balanced diet as much as possible.

Not that I overindulged in sugar, but I will miss a sugar (of all kinds), I will also miss alcohol. I like to enjoy alcohol 3-4 times a week in the evenings after work so that will be a challenge. If the diet does in fact start showing signs of improvement, the one thing I won’t miss, is feeling bad all of the time. I am hoping feeling better will greatly outweigh my missing certain foods (grains, legumes, & nightshades) as well as treat style foods. If anything I hope this helps me to treat treats… well as they are… treats.

I think after a month of the diet I will assess the situation and see how I am doing. I may re-integrate foods occasionally or sparingly but it really all depends on the outcome. I’ll keep posting here on my experiences with the AIP diet.

8 thoughts on “AIP

  1. Look forward to reading your updates. I did 6 weeks AIP up til March 15th and then kind of ‘slid’ a bit… managed to stay grain and potato free… was already gf, legume free and pretty much dairy free. I can ‘tolerate’ grass fed butter and cream… am trying to gain weight but almost there so plan to go back AIP for another 6 wks on first of May… Hope it goes well for you and that you enjoy symptom relief on it.

    1. Thanks so much for the support, Jannah. If I may ask, how long into your AIP did you start feeling symptomatic relief? I imagine it starts on slowly then improves with time. I’m so curious how it’s going to make me feel and I know I just need to do something – even if it means sacrificing grains/nightshades from my diet. Hashi’s has actually caused me to put on weight so I hope that the symptom relief will help me get back to where I was before all of this mess started.

      Good luck on your weight and health goals too. I’ve started following you so I’ll check in from time to time and see how things are going. ^^

      1. This sounds like a challenge, but i know you can do it Meredith! I really hope it helps you out a lot with feeling better. especially with having more energy, i know that has been a huge issue for you. keep us updated buddy 🙂

      2. Pretty quickly to be honest… now to be honest my ‘symptoms’ are quite mild and I’m adopting a paleo approach primarily because of my belief that it’s a healthier way to live generally and the best option for a sound and effective gut barrier and therefore optimum holistic well-being.

        The biggest issue I have had of late is that over about two years my skin went from mildly and occasionally problematic to out and out acne. It didn’t happen suddenly and through a slow process of elimination I managed to pin down certain things that were causing flares if cystic acne… amongst these were nuts, which I had never had an issue with and I noticed increasingly that I was seeing reactions to more and more foods and when I cut out one thing the flares would start up again soon after in relation to something else.

        I had an extremely stressful/traumatic period in my life a few years back and was told I had adrenal fatigue by one practitioner… I began to suspect I also had leaky gut so gave up gluten etc and one thing to another I discovered paleo and gradually came to think AIP might be a helpful healing opportunity for my system.

        I didn’t notice any improvement in my acne in the first two weeks… If anything it got worse (it’s definitely vastly improved now) but I did notice an effect I hadn’t expected- despite eating to gain weight and successfully gaining 6lbs over 3 months my stomach has really flattened out… I’m quite slim naturally and petite in build and I don’t have any spare around the middle but evidently my stomach was bloated ‘beneath the surface’ to an extent without me realising as it is flatter now than any time since having my first child. It wasn’t something I was aiming for but a nice bonus and it cemented my belief that my digestive system likes AIP a whole lot better than rice and potato!

        Excuse the long comment… I haven’t actually blogged about my AIP journey but maybe I will when I start again in two weeks… I’ll keep an eye on your blog for updates too… Really hope it gives you some relief.

      3. Wow, the quick results sounds really incredible. I’m feeling great on day 1 so far. I’m trying to keep it simple, nothing fancy, Surprisingly simple can taste amazing too. I am pretty sure that between AIP I will Paleo also, if it starts working for me. Honestly any improvement is better than how I’ve been feeling. I have a gut feeling my gut will be happy with this change ^^

      4. I hope so 🙂 I’m not exactly looking forward to starting back to be honest but you’re right the simple food tastes great… Especially once you’re in the swing of it. It takes my head longer than my body to get used to dietary changes! 🙂 look forward to your updates!

Leave a Reply

